Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Chrome.exe command line switches

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Chrome.exe command line switches

    Here are a couple of switches for Chrome.exe which I found and have tested that actually do something:

    --single-process (this makes Chrome.exe run as a single process instead of a process for every tab)

    --disable-images (turns off all images displayed on web pages)

    To use, I made a copy of the launcher and modified the Properties of it, changing the target so it ends like this for example: ".....\Application\chrome.exe" --disable-images

    Edit: Below is a list of all/most -- switches from the chrome.exe (Please try some if you can and report your results/affects)

    renderer-assert-test
    crash-test
    renderer-crash-test
    renderer-startup-dialog
    plugin-startup-dialog
    testshell-startup-dialog
    plugin-launcher
    channel
    testing-channel
    homepage
    start-renderers-manually
    renderer
    renderer-path
    plugin
    single-process
    process-per-tab
    process-per-site
    in-process-plugins
    no-sandbox
    safe-plugins
    trusted-plugins
    test-sandbox
    user-data-dir
    app
    upload-file
    dom-automation
    plugin-path
    js-flags
    geoid
    lang
    debug-children
    wait-for-debugger-children
    log-filter-prefix
    enable-logging
    dump-histograms-on-exit
    disable-logging
    remote-shell-port
    uninstall
    omnibox-popup-count
    automation-channel
    restore-last-session
    record-mode
    playback-mode
    no-events
    hide-icons
    show-icons
    make-default-browser
    proxy-server
    dns-log-details
    dns-prefetch-disable
    debug-print
    allow-all-activex
    disable-dev-tools
    always-enable-dev-tools
    tab-count-to-load-on-session-restore
    memory-profile
    memory-model
    enable-file-cookies
    start-maximized
    enable-watchdog
    first-run
    message-loop-strategy
    message-loop-histogrammer
    import
    silent-dump-on-dcheck
    disable-prompt-on-repost
    disable-popup-blocking
    disable-javascript
    disable-java
    disable-plugins
    disable-images
    use-lf-heap
    new-http


    Edit:
    omnibox-popup-count increases the suggestions provided when you type in it according to: http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/the-g...mented-switch/

    For user-data-dir see here: http://www.labnol.org/software/creat...e-chrome/4394/

    Edit:
    This page also explains a few of the debugging ones: http://dev.chromium.org/developers/how-tos/debugging

    Edit:
    Bit of info on no-sandbox here: http://www.alvinashcraft.com/2008/09...e-chrome-fail/

    Edit:
    After further googling, I discovered someone has documented alot of the above switches at: http://www.ericdlarson.com/misc/chro...ine_flags.html


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Chrome.exe command line switches

    Brilliant!

    EDIT: just noticed you can also put a web address at the end of the target path, and it will go straight to that site on boot-up.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Chrome.exe command line switches

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperTom
    Brilliant!

    EDIT: just noticed you can also put a web address at the end of the target path, and it will go straight to that site on boot-up.
    Yep, it's a fairly standard feature of browsers.
    Thanks for mentioning it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Chrome.exe command line switches

    I found mention of these:

    assert-test
    disable-hang-monitor
    disable-metrics
    disable-metrics-reporting
    enable-p13n
    gears-in-renderer
    gears-plugin-path
    javascript-debugger-path
    log-level

    ...no idea what they do.

    From http://initiative.yo2.cn/archives/631784

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperTom View Post
    Brilliant!

    EDIT: just noticed you can also put a web address at the end of the target path, and it will go straight to that site on boot-up.
    Could you put multiple sites, and have those ALL open up in separate tabs?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    In the new dev channel version you can now have

    --incognito = makes all open tabs incognito, but you will lose Most recent page functionality so need a home page setup instead with bookmarks for your regulars.


    Also a combination of switches as follows will protect from click-jacking...

    -disable-javascript -disable-java -disable-plugins

    But will seriously depreciate your browsing experience (try youtube after this )


    --safe-plugins = Chromium also contains an option to run existing plug-ins inside the process sandbox. To do so, run the browser with the --safe-plugins command line option. This setting is experimental and might cause in-stability or unexpected behavior. For example, sandboxed plug-ins might not be able to update themselves to newer versions.

    All of the above combined have some negative effects, the most visited page will not work as mentioned so a standard home page needs set up in options, scroogle for instance in https mode, bookmark fav icons will not update, and as mentioned certain auto updates will not happen. Just disable all switches for updates/new bookmarks (or have a separate icon for chrome with no switches).
    Last edited by W33d3r; 10-25-2008 at 12:24 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    --incognito = makes all open tabs incognito, but you will lose Most recent page functionality so need a home page setup instead with bookmarks for your regulars.

    thanks for the tip; works as advertised :-)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    NIce! I just used googlechrome recently, and I don't know a lot of things that I can do ..
    You really help me man! Thanks
    Ribonzz
    Free ebooks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    what switch did you add to the shortcut?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    what version of Chrome are you running? some switches may not work anymore

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0